Site Features
- Asian Film Awards
- Site Recommendations

- Reader Poll Results

- The Sponsor Page
- The FAQ Page
support this site by shopping at
Click to visit
Asian Blu-ray discs at
Return to People Archive S - W
Ti Lung
- actor -
Ti Lung in Clean My Name, Mr. Coroner (2000) Ti Lung in Duel of Fists (1971) Ti Lung in Drunken Master 2 (1994) Ti Lung in Legend of the Bat (1978)

Ti Lung was born August 3rd, 1946 in Hong Kong and began studying Wing Chun under Master Chu Wan. In 1969 at the age of 23 he appeared with Jimmy Wang Yu in Chang Cheh's Return of the One Armed Swordsman for Shaw Bros. Studios. The studio saw potential in the earnest young man and trained him in the arts of swordplay, acting and horseback riding.

The investment paid off, as Lung's relationship with Shaw Bros. remained fruitful for many years to come. Lung went on to become one of Shaw Bros. top Kung Fu stars alongside frequent co-star David Chiang in many of Chang Cheh's epic films, including Blood Brothers and Five Masters of Death. After the demise of Shaw Studios, Ti Lung made a few films in Tawain and then returned to Hong Kong in the eighties with John Woo's A Better Tomorrow.

Ti Lung has a reputation for being very serious and is one of the most respected actors working in Hong Kong today. His most recent accomplishment is winning the Best Supporting Actor Award at the 2000 Hong Kong Film Awards for his role in 1999's The Kid, starring Leslie Cheung and directed by Jacob Cheung Chi-Leung. Ti has been married to wife To Man-Ming for many years, and has a son named Shaun Tam Jun-Yin who is currently attempting to start an acting career in Taiwan. (Magicvoice 2002)

selected filmography
(actor unless otherwise noted)
Dead End (1969)
Have Sword, Will Travel (1969)
Return of the One-Armed Swordsman (1969)
The Heroic Ones (1970)
The Singing Killer (1970)[cameo]
Vengeance! (1970)
The Anonymous Heroes (1971)
The Deadly Duo (1971)
Duel of Fists (1971)
The Duel (1971)
King Eagle (1971)
The New One-Armed Swordsman (1971)
Angry Guest (1972)
Delightful Forest (1972)
Four Riders (1972)
Trilogy of Swordsmanship (1972)
The Water Margin (1972)
Young People (1972)
The Blood Brothers (1973)
The Pirate (1973)
Qing Kung (1973)
The Drug Addict (1974)
Five Shaolin Masters (1974)
The Savage Five (1974)
They Call Him Mr Shatter (1974)
Young Lovers on Flying Wheels (1974)[also director]
All Men are Brothers (1975)
Black Magic (1975)
The Empress Dowager (1975)
The Spiritual Boxer (1975)
The Young Rebel (1975)[also director]
Black Magic Part 2 (1976)
The Last Tempest (1976)
The Magic Blade (1976)
Seven Man Army (1976)
Shaolin Temple (1976)
The Snake Prince (1976)
Clans of Intrigue (1977)
Death Duel (1977)
The Inheritor of Kung Fu (1977)
Jade Tiger (1977)
The Naval Commandos (1977)
Pursuit of Vengeance (1977)
The Sentimental Swordsman (1977)
The Avenging Eagle (1978)
The Brave Archer Part 2 (1978)
Flying Guillotine Part 2 (1978)
Legend of the Bat (1978)
Soul of the Sword (1978)
Swordsman and Enchantress (1978)
The Deadly Breaking Sword (1979)
The Kung Fu Instructor (1979)
Ten Tigers from Kwantung (1979)
The Convict Killer (1980)
The Revenger (1980)
The Shaolin Heroes (1980)
The Battle for the Republic of China (1981)
The Brave Archer Part 3 (1981)
The Emperor and His Brother (1981)
Hero at the Border Region (1981)
The Kung Fu Emperor (1981)
Return of the Sentimental Swordsman (1981)
Clan Feuds (1982)
Perils of the Sentimental Swordsman (1982)
Tiger Killer (1982)
Mercenaries from Hong Kong (1983)
The Roving Swordsman (1983)
Shaolin Prince (1983)
Death Ring (1984)
A Friend from Inner Space (1984)
The Hidden Power of the Dragon Sabre (1984)
Opium and the Kung Fu Master (1984)
The Master Strikes Back (1985)
Ninja in the Deadly Trap (1985)
Shanghai 13 (1985)
A Better Tomorrow (1986)
True Colours (1986)
A Better Tomorrow II (1987) 
The Legend of Wisely (1987)
People's Hero (1987)
Tiger on the Beat (1988)[cameo]
City War (1988)
Love Ma and Dad (1988)
Just Heroes (1989)
Run, Don't Walk (1989)
The Killer's Blues (1990)
The Banquet (1991)[cameo]
The Bare-Footed Kid (1993)
Blade of Fury (1993)
First Shot (1993)
A Warrior's Tragedy (1993)
Drunken Master II (1994)
The Kid (1999)
Clean My Name, Mr. Coroner! (2000) 
High K (2000)
Paramount Motel (2000)
Mist in Judge (2001)
Frugal Game (2002)
Star Runner (2003)
New Born (2005)
One Last Dance (2005)
Heavenly Mission (2006)
My Wife is a Gangster 3 (2006)
Run Papa Run (2008)
Three Kingdoms: Resurrection of the Dragon (2008)
Storm Rider - Clash of Evils (2008)[voice]
Butterfly Lovers (2008)
The Jade and the Pearl (2010)
Frozen (2010)
7 Assassins (2013)
All You Need is Love (2015)
The Kid from the Big Apple (2016)
back to top Copyright 2002-2017 Ross Chen